Nonpartisan Political Organization Encouraging Civic Participation in Government


The League of Women of Louisiana was formed in the 1940's to address issues at the state level and to coordinate the activities of the local Leagues. At present there are four local Leagues: LWV Caddo-Bossier, LWV Lafayette, LWV New Orleans, and LWV St. Tammany. Representatives of each local League are elected at the biennial LWV of Louisiana Convention to serve two-year terms as state officers and members of the Board of Directors. The current state officers are: PRESIDENT: M. Christian Green,, VICE PRESIDENT: Bonnie Schmidt,, SECRETARY: Alicia Chaisson, TREASURER: Yvonne Mitchell-Grubb,